The Next Big Thing


Hello again, Travelers. I’m here today to talk about The Next Big Thing. My thanks to Ms. Julianne Snow for tagging me in this blogging trend.

For a brief introduction, I’ll be talking about my second novel, which I just recently started writing. My first novel, A Touch of Malice, is currently up for consideration. Technically, I did write one prior to that, but it shall never see the light of day. On to the questions!

What is the working title of your book?

Oh man, titles are always the hardest part, aren’t they? As of right now, my working title, aside from “Working Title”, is “Reflection”, though that’s almost certainly going to change (It changed three times while I wrote these reponses).

 

Where did the idea come from for the book?

That’s tough to answer too, but only because I drew a little bit from a lot of places. Some comes from folklore, some from the field of psychology, and others from video games like Heavy Rain. I suppose, if I were to say one thing specifically, I’d say the inspiration comes from how hard people try to escape emotional pain.  And the song ‘Snuff’ by Slipknot.

 

What genre does your book fall under?

Probably Thriller, though it’ll have more than enough fantasy and horror elements thrown in to confuse the hell out of the person trying to categorize it (right now, I’m that person!).

 

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

If this ever turns into a movie, I’ll invite everyone who “Likes” this post to party with me (Who knows- maybe I’m being serious?). Now, assuming I can take my pick from the veritable feat of household names, I’d choose:

Main protagonist (The anti-hero): Josh Hutcherson

Secondary Protagonist, (The victim/ voice of reason): Ashley Rickards

Main antagonist (The serial killer): Cillian Murphy

Secondary Antagonist (The cult leader): Fran Kranz

 

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A young woman who is being targeted by an unstoppable serial killer is forced to place her trust in an enigmatic stranger, despite his own secretive life, only to find he has an unusual and dangerous gift.

  

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’d prefer an agency, only because I’m really not that good at promoting my own work.

 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Oh, er, he he, draft? I, how shall we say, have not written it yet. I’m a good bit into the first chapter though. I’m going to give a hopeful estimate of “a few months”. Maybe four or five? …By August, certainly.

 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I’d say it might fall in the weirdness realm of The Dead Zone (King) or From the Corner of His Eye (Koontz).

 

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

It’s really just something that came into my head one day and began to infect the rest of me. Now, I have no choice but to write it.

 

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Part of the story will involve a depraved cult intent on ritualistically sacrificing one of the main characters; another will be focused on a renegade FBI agent. Plus I intend on using a non-linear story telling format to keep the readers on their toes.

 

Now for my five three choices (and these are in no particular order):
Christofer Nigro

Russell Linton

Shane R. Collins

4 responses to “The Next Big Thing

  1. Put me in the intrigued camp as well – serial killers woohoo! They’ve always scared the hell out of me more than zombies, vampires and whatever imaginary stuff people can throw together. (I’ve got a new story slated for Siren’s Call Asylum anthology that focuses on one.) Thanks for inviting me on the tour as well!

    • There’s a certain terror of watching a fellow man become a monster that no amount of imaginary creature can capture. And I’ve got a story accepted for that anthology too! Small world, huh?

I'd love to hear what you have to say, traveler

