The Coming Soon Blog Tour


Hello Travelers,

This is coming a bit later than it should’ve, but here I am with my entry for the coming soon blog tour. I could go on about how my wandering ways led me down some paths that were far longer than I expected, but that would only delay this post further. You have my apologies, and more importantly, you have my answers to these questions.

What are you working on right now?

That’s a tricky question, because I do so much at once that it’s hard to say… I’ll list everything, then.

I’m currently in the process of writing my second, currently unnamed, novel.

I’m also dabbling in a semi-autobiographical poetry collection.

And in my spare time, I’m crafting a book of stand-alone short stories that also serve to tell one overarching tale. I’m not sure if this is a unique novel or unique in general, but hey, that’s the way it is.

How does it differ from other works in its genre?

My novel will have an equal balance between a male and female lead character. It will also blend science and fantasy (note: this is NOT a science fiction story).

And I think I covered the difference in my previous answer, but my poetry will be wildly experimental and my stories will be equal parts fantasy and realism.

What experiences have influenced you?

Modern psychology and quantum physics are heavy influences in my novel (as they are in my life).

Why do you write what you do?

Because what is life without that carnal drive? The real world isn’t nice and neat. People all over the world are suffering, fucking and dying, with some doing all three at once. If reality isn’t picture perfect, why should literature be? I just take my readers to the darker edges of the world they already live in. Remember: it’s only fiction if you don’t believe.

How does your writing process work?
I sit down, check my emails, tie up my loose ends, then type. Or talk, if I’m using my voice-to-text program.

However, poetry always goes down by hand first.

Overall, everything starts out as a stream of consciousness, which in some instances becomes a series of white-water rapids, culminating in the waterfall that I call ‘editing’ where any debris and unnecessary details are cast into oblivion by the delete button.

What is the hardest part about writing?
Having the time to do it! That and wrist strain.

What would you like to try as a writer that you haven’t yet?
But I already do so much! Ideally, I’d like to write a movie or video game just so see my work on screen, but given the unlikeliness of that happening in the near future, I’d like to try my hand at horror that is more literary fiction in nature. I’m also entering a few contests, so let’s see how that turns out, shall we?

Who are the authors you most admire?
Aside from myself? Just kidding, folks, I’m not that kind of guy. Barker, King and Koontz (not in any particular order) as far as mainstream are concerned. In my little indie-corner of the world, Daemonwulf, Nina D’arcangela, and Blaze McRob (again, in no particular order). There are also a few friends of mine back in the real world whom I believe to be very talented (looking at you, Bill).

Who are new authors to watch out for?
That’s a tough one for me to answer because I’m not certain what qualifies as ‘new’. I could certainly direct you to the aforementioned indie authors, but they’d be ‘new’ in the sense that I haven’t known them for very long. They’ve all been writing for some time now. Even I’m not ‘new’ if you count the fact that I first started writing online and entering contests at writing.com seven years ago. As such, I think I’ll skip this. Sorry, Travelers.

What scares you?

Failure, definitely, is at the top of my list. Thinking that I could give it my all and not get anywhere… that’s one of the most terrifying prospects I could ever face. Spiders, snakes, and serial killers have no such hold on my heart.

The Tagged Authors

I’m calling on the people below to repost this to their own sites one week from today.

Joseph A. Pinto

Nina D’arcangela

 

Check around the internet soon for their participation. Until then, walk on, my long-roaming friends.

3 responses to “The Coming Soon Blog Tour

  1. Thank you, Alex, for the very kind mention and the target you just painted on my rump! LOL

    I’m honored to be chosen, and will happily take part in it. But I’ll be late as well, I have to wait for the A to Z tour to end. Spanks again!! 😉

  2. Why thanksssssss for the kind words, for mentioning ussss (*schizo smile*) on this here blog and for including us in such fine d’arc and fiery company. *toothy grin* Sir Alex of Clan Chase, you really are a kind and wonderful soul — just the type we loves to eats. *toothy grin* However, being as though you are one of the three people who read my twisted tales, it probably would behoove me to keep you around. *sharp smile*

    But, seriously, I very much appreciate the kind thoughts and your support. *highly-appreciative smile*

I'd love to hear what you have to say, traveler

